Morning crankypants

I recently spent the weekend with my family.  We went to Feast of the Hunter’s Moon, which was fun; I bought candles and soap.  Also went to church.  I felt so depressed and uncomfortable the entire time.  I have lots of issues with church that I’m still teasing out with my therapist.  Stems back to having to go alone as a teenager and not being welcomed at all.  So anyway, I finally talked to Heather about being in a funk all day and she says, “it’s because you wake up with a bad attitude.”  As usual, my sister is piercingly accurate 🙂  Man, I hate to get out of bed in the morning.  And I hate thinking of all the things I have to do in one day.  And then I get pissed that I’m running late, and on and on.  This morning’s two-pound weight gain didn’t help either.  My therapist suggested putting encouraging bible verses or a note to self handy in the morning to combat that.  I don’t know what my note to self would look like but at least there’s some encouraging psalms out there.  What do you do to start the day positively?

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Morning crankypants

  1. Dennae Moore says:

    I find it helpful, although I don’t do it well yet. To make a to do list before going to sleep the next morning. Also, if I have a treat for myself, smelly lotion to put on after my shower if I am quick, a nice cup of hot tea, a CD to put on and listen to when getting ready (this one is my favorite) I find getting out of bed is easier. This time of year is just tuff. The house is cold, the sky is dark, and there is soooo much to do. I also found on Hearts at Home website some window clings with Bible verses. I have them in the bathroom and on a mirror over my kitchen sink. Hope that helps. I’ll pray for you, because I know all to well how it is to be a grump before I even open my eyes or stick my big toe out of the covers.

Leave a Reply

